Title: The Thousandth Floor

Author: Katharine McGee

Publisher: HarperCollins


Synopsis: Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?

Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Big Little Lies, debut author Katharine McGee has created a breathtakingly original series filled with high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, where the impossible feels just within reach. But in this world, the higher you go, the farther there is to fall….


Review: I picked up this book hoping to escape my own personal drama, and wow, The Thousandth Floor did not disappoint. Imagine Gossip Girl meets Cruel Intentions mixed with a dash of Big Little Lies.

The Thousandth Floor is a story of the haves mingling with the have nots. Author McGee did a splendid job showing the economical and social impact on residents living in the tower: a thousand floor building in Manhattan that houses millions. The wealth increases the higher you go, along with the drama. The characters' actions remind the reader that money doesn’t buy happiness.

I loved switching point of views, and I especially enjoyed getting into Rylin’s and Avery’s heads. The roller coaster of teenage emotions kept me turning the pages. Reading this book was like watching a teen drama I couldn’t turn off.

Author McGee’s writing flows easily and every chapter leaves you on a cliffhanger. Each character has his/her own voice, which is appreciated since the author jumps from one POV to the next. I can’t wait to pick up the second book in the series. I need to know how the web of lies untangles sooner than later.

Please note that several reviewers mention their displeasure with the incest depicted in the book. Here’s my two cents: the two characters accused of incest are NOT related by blood therefore there is no legal ramification.


Triggers/Warnings: teen drinking and drug use, adult language

Plot: 5/5

Pacing: 5/5

Escapism Factor: 4/5

Emotional Connection: 4/5

Character Development: 4/5

Star Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Completed Read: April 2021


65 views0 comments

Title: Cast in Firelight

Author: Dana Swift

Publisher: Delacorte Press


Synopsis: Adraa is the royal heir of Belwar, a talented witch on the cusp of taking her royal ceremony test, and a girl who just wants to prove her worth to her people. Jatin is the royal heir to Naupure, a competitive wizard who's mastered all nine colors of magic, and a boy anxious to return home for the first time since he was a child. Together, their arranged marriage will unite two of Wickery's most powerful kingdoms. But after years of rivalry from afar, Adraa and Jatin only agree on one thing: their reunion will be anything but sweet. Only, destiny has other plans and with the criminal underbelly of Belwar suddenly making a move for control, their paths cross...and neither realizes who the other is, adopting separate secret identities instead. Between dodging deathly spells and keeping their true selves hidden, the pair must learn to put their trust in the other if either is to uncover the real threat. Now Wickery's fate is in the hands of rivals..? Fiancées..? Partners..? Whatever they are, it's complicated and bound for greatness or destruction.


Review: Author Dana Swift’s debut novel, Cast in Firelight, is a fun and easy read for fans of young adult fantasy. The rival to lovers troupe is engaging and sweet. Both characters kept me laughing with their witty banter. The author’s decision to switch between Adraa and Jatin’s POVs added a pleasant twist. I really enjoyed the magic system, especially the color-coded fortes. It helped me visualize the combat scenes without confusion.


The pacing flowed nicely as well as the dialogue. I never found myself bored or uninterested in the plot, nor did I find the conversations unrealistic. Readers who prefer “slow burn” romances will love Adraa’s and Jatin’s relationship, but if you’re looking for steam, this isn’t the book for you. It’s a safe read for middle schoolers.


The only thing that irked me while reading was the author’s overuse of the word “blood”. I believe she substituted it for a common curse word. My adult mind kept replacing it with f*ck or sh*t. LOL


Overall, I enjoyed the plot and characters. The cliffhanger was well-rounded but left me wanting more.


Triggers/Warnings: none

Plot: 4/5

Pacing: 5/5

Escapism Factor: 4/5

Emotional Connection: 4/5

Character Development: 4/5


Star Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Completed Read: March 2021

194 views2 comments

Updated: Apr 12


Title: Obsidio

Authors: Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers


Synopsis: Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives from the attacks on Heimdall station and now find themselves crammed with 2,000 refugees on the container ship, Mao. With the jump station destroyed and their resources scarce, the only option is to return to Kerenza--but who knows what they'll find seven months after the invasion? Meanwhile, Kady's cousin, Asha, survived the initial BeiTech assault and has joined Kerenza's ragtag underground resistance. When Rhys--an old flame from Asha's past--reappears on Kerenza, the two find themselves on opposite sides of the conflict. With time running out, a final battle will be waged on land and in space, heros will fall, and hearts will be broken.


Review: ERROR> ERROR> ERROR>


It’s time for another standing ovation. Authors Kaufman and Kristoff did it again! This book. This series. The characters will stay with me forever. The formatting of the physical books is a feast for the eyes, and the audiobooks are a symphony to the ears. I adored every second of Obsidio, the last installment of the Illuminae Files.


I loved how the authors brought the cast of books one and two together for the finale. Kady and Ezra, Hannah and Nik, and Asha and Rhys finally kicked some serious ass. And boy, oh boy, it was fun to read. I didn’t want the story to end.


Obsidio showed the ugly side of war, allowing the reader to see both sides of the coin. The authors made me feel compassionate for the morally grey characters. Cue AIDEN.


So, let’s talk about the star of the show, the artificial intelligence who has the power to tip the scales. Every story needs a hero and a villain, right? But which role did AIDEN choose? That’s the beauty of Obsidio. The reader gets to decide.


Kaufman and Kristoff’s writing was superb. The pacing was fantastic. The emotional connection was off the charts, and the ending left the reader both satisfied and intrigued. I can’t say enough positive things about this book.


I AM AIDEN


ERROR> ERROR> ERROR>


Triggers/Warnings: graphic violence, implied language


Plot: 5/5

Pacing: 5/5

Escapism Factor: 5/5

Emotional Connection: 5/5

Character Development: 5/5


Star Rating:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Completed Read: March 2021

135 views0 comments