The Thousandth Floor


Title: The Thousandth Floor

Author: Katharine McGee

Publisher: HarperCollins


Synopsis: Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?

Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Big Little Lies, debut author Katharine McGee has created a breathtakingly original series filled with high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, where the impossible feels just within reach. But in this world, the higher you go, the farther there is to fall….


Review: I picked up this book hoping to escape my own personal drama, and wow, The Thousandth Floor did not disappoint. Imagine Gossip Girl meets Cruel Intentions mixed with a dash of Big Little Lies.

The Thousandth Floor is a story of the haves mingling with the have nots. Author McGee did a splendid job showing the economical and social impact on residents living in the tower: a thousand floor building in Manhattan that houses millions. The wealth increases the higher you go, along with the drama. The characters' actions remind the reader that money doesn’t buy happiness.

I loved switching point of views, and I especially enjoyed getting into Rylin’s and Avery’s heads. The roller coaster of teenage emotions kept me turning the pages. Reading this book was like watching a teen drama I couldn’t turn off.

Author McGee’s writing flows easily and every chapter leaves you on a cliffhanger. Each character has his/her own voice, which is appreciated since the author jumps from one POV to the next. I can’t wait to pick up the second book in the series. I need to know how the web of lies untangles sooner than later.

Please note that several reviewers mention their displeasure with the incest depicted in the book. Here’s my two cents: the two characters accused of incest are NOT related by blood therefore there is no legal ramification.


Triggers/Warnings: teen drinking and drug use, adult language

Plot: 5/5

Pacing: 5/5

Escapism Factor: 4/5

Emotional Connection: 4/5

Character Development: 4/5

Star Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Completed Read: April 2021


65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All